Not attending Lollapalooza? Eat like you were there!

Over 30 area restaurants are dishing out amazing food this weekend at Lollapalooza. If you’re like me, you weren’t lucky enough to score tickets to the popular music festival. Rather than be sad about it, I plan to seize the opportunity to go to a few of the featured restaurants while the crowds are busy jamming in Grant Park.

Mayhem Burger from Kuma's Corner | Photo courtesy of Tammy Green

Mayhem Burger from Kuma's Corner


First stop? Kuma’s Corner (2900 W Belmont Avenue). The kitchen at Kuma’s is in a tiny, grungy spot tucked behind the bar of this heavy metal-inspired bar, but they serve the most inspired burgers this city has to offer. The typical two-hour wait on the weekend? Worth it. However, if I can get a bacon, cheddar and fried egg Kuma Burger without the wait, I know it will only taste that much better. While I’m there, I might also “make my own mac & cheese” with caramelized onions, roasted red peppers and sweet corn. I may even throw in a Pig Destroyer or Iron Maiden Burger to go. Yes, I eat like a pig at Kuma’s. You will, too. The craft beer selection here is awesome and they’re proud of it.

Scallops from Sola | Photo courtesy of Tammy Green

Scallops from Sola

Next? A reservation at Sola (3868 North Lincoln Avenue). This Hawaiian-inspired menu is the laid-back antidote to the thrashing vibe of Kuma’s Corner. Sit back and enjoy excellent table service in a quiet neighborhood setting while Chef Carol Wallack and staff casually serve up amazing dishes like wasabi-encrusted seared scallops, miso black cod, or soft-shell crab. I notice fish isn’t on her Lolla menu which is a shame for festival goers, but more for me!

Creme Brulee Pancakes from Elate | Photo courtesy of Tammy Green

Crème Brûlée Pancakes from Elate

While the folks at Lollapalooza will only see one item from Elate (111 West Huron Street), I’ll be perusing their brunch menu on Sunday. Perhaps I’ll order the delicious Braised Pork and Egg Tostada with avocado and black beans or the Organic House-Made Granola with cranberries and macadamia nuts. Most likely, I’ll settle back with a bottomless mimosa while feasting on the oh-so-delicious Crème Brûlée pancakes.

To the people coming into town for the festival, I hope you have a great time. Me? I have my iPod and a plan. I’m sure we’ll both be happy. Rock on.

About Tammy Green, Chicago Bites

Tammy Green is the co-founder of restaurant review site, Chicago Bites, a local and independent collaboration of talented people interested in eating well. She’s been eating for years, but didn’t discover her professional fascination with food until she started talking about it every week. As a result of Chicago Bites, she has expanded her interest in food policy, gardening, canning, composting, organic issues, slow food, local producers and chefs and how these all impact the Chicago dining experience.
This entry was posted in Dining and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

